Sweet Success with Sauerkraut

Hey GAPSters! I’ve just posted on my Lost Arts Kitchen blog about how I make consistently delicious, crunchy sauerkraut. Check it out!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherry
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:23:05

    Everyone around here processes their kraut in a pressure canner.

    Reply

    • Chris
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:32:19

      That’s unfortunate! Processing sauerkraut destroys its good bacteria and its texture. I understand wanting something shelf-stable–I made a few quarts of pickles and canned them just in case we ran out of or somehow lost our pickles in cold storage (and we did–I accidentally turned the refrigerator they were in down and they froze)–but pressure canning seems like overkill. Pickled foods can be safely processed in a water bath.

      Reply

  2. Megan @ boho mama
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 11:33:46

    Thanks for these tips! I’ve been making sauerkraut for a while but it never turns out quite like I like.

    Reply

  3. Brookolyn
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 10:25:04

    Hi! I drink the juice and don’t eat the cabbage. Does anybody know if instead of cutting up more cabbage and making a whole new batch of sauerkraut, can you just refill with new water to make more sauerkraut juice?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Chris Musser © 2011
