Week One

I’ve decided to discontinue the daily meal updates and post a weekly record instead.

Day 1 Mike and I started intro yesterday. Here’s what I ate.

  • Breakfast: Liverwurst and chicken broth with pickle juice (from homemade LF pickles)
  • Mid-Morning Snack: Mug of broth with pickle juice. Realize that it tastes really good.
  • Lunch: Celeriac-Apple Soup with Pork Patties (cooked for a while, til the meat was softened)
  • Afternoon Snack: Same as lunch.
  • Dinner: Same as lunch, plus I added a leftover beef patty and some duck prosciutto to the soup. I made a batch of applesauce and we all enjoyed that immensely.
  • Before bed, I had a cup of chamomile tea.

Day 2 Today I ate

  • Breakfast: Liverwurst and a mug of chicken broth with pickle juice and egg yolk.
  • Mid-morning snack: Cup of garlic and ginger infused duck broth with egg yolk and kimchi juice.
  • Lunch: Pork Loin and Bok Choy in Duck Broth.
  • Dinner: Same as lunch, plus a bit of applesauce with cinnamon.

Day 3 I ate:

  • Breakfast: Chicken broth with pickle juice, liverwurst
  • Lunch: Not very good chicken soup (too much onions and garlic)
  • Afternoon snack: Banana-hazelnut butter pancakes
  • Dinner: Curried buttercup squash soup with chicken

Day 4 I’m starting at the screen, drawing a complete blank on what I ate yesterday. Oh right, now it’s coming to me.

  • Breakfast: Liverwurst, 1 egg fried in ghee, a couple small almond flour & yogurt pancakes, beef broth with kimchi juice
  • Lunch: Leftover duck soup
  • Dinner: Onion soup with sirloin and yogurt, applesauce

Day 5 I ate

  • Breakfast: Liverwurst, one fried egg, pork patty, pickle, chicken broth
  • Lunch: Leftover onion soup with more beef broth and kraut
  • Dinner: Gingered Carrot Soup with Shrimp and Kimchi, applesauce

Day 6 Yesterday I taught my Dairy Magic class and had a bit of a “cheat” day. I couldn’t be rude and not enjoy all the yummy homemade cream cheese and mozzarella or let the leftovers go to waste, right? I also made a batch of carrot muffins, for my students to have with cream cheese and had some of those. Plus, I had a mug of coffee. Back on the protocol today. At this point, we’re in Intro, Stage 3 and sliding into Stage 4, ready for juices, fried eggs. If things keep apace, I expect we’ll be on Full GAPS within week or so.

  • Breakfast: Liverwurst, egg, baby bok choy sauteed in duck fat, half a lactofermented pickle.
  • Lunch: Carrot and shrimp soup with kimchi, mug of coffee with honey and cream
  • Snack during class: Two carrot cake mini-muffins with homemade cream cheese
  • Dinner: Spaghetti squash with Bolognese sauce and leftover homemade mozzarella

Day 7 Sunday was a quiet day here. We enjoyed a big family breakfast, then in the afternoon, my husband took the kids to a friend’s house for the rest of the day. I puttered around, preparing two kinds of liverwurst, brining a duck to roast Monday, cleaning up around the house, and enjoying the solitude.

  • Breakfast: Almond flour pancakes, eggs fried in ghee, pork sausage, carrot juice
  • Lunch: Skipped, not hungry
  • Snack: Carrot muffins with cream cheese, beef liver paté
  • Dinner: Skipped, not hungry
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hellaD
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 12:11:53

    It is really a good idea to have a list of what you ate all week like this. Very helpful. Love your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Chris Musser © 2011
