Day 9

I realized, finally, that I’m feeling overwhelmed because not only am I a week into GAPS, but also preparing a load of ferments, bacon, smoke salmon and gravlax for members of our buying club and working on blog posts about rendering fat and making broth that are requiring lots of food prep, plus I want to take pictures when there’s good light in the kitchen, which is slowing down both of those processes. Here’s what we’ve prepared this week:

  • 1 gallon of sauerkraut
  • 1/2 gallon of kimchi
  • 1 gallon of preserved lemons
  • 16 quart stock pot on stove with beef broth
  • 5 or so pints of lard, half of it still in the slow cooker, waiting to be jarred when the light is right
  • 8 quart stock pot of with duck broth, waiting to be jarred up when I can the beef broth tomorrow
  • 70 pound of pork bellies (Mike’s smoking these today)
  • 5 pounds of salmon (Mike’s *supposed* to be smoking these today, but he forgot to take them with him to our smoking partner’s house!)

The good news is, once we get all the bacon and ferments out of here and I finish up these blog posts, cooking just for my family will be a breeze!

This morning, amused with myself as I made our morning juice and really enjoying the process because I never thought I’d be one of those people, you know, someone who juices everyday, I realized that 1) I also never thought I’d be one of those people with two deep freezes and I never even imagined that I’d be someone who renders her own lard or makes her own kimchi and 2) I’m really glad that I have the energy to do things like make juice and cleaner the juicer everyday, that I am able to take better care of myself than I could a year ago. I was beating myself up a bit, for not starting GAPS sooner, for not going gluten-free sooner. I know so many people doing this diet, but they and their kids all seemed sicker than me and my kids. I didn’t fully understand the protocol or how it healed the body. The truth is, I was in denial about the state of my health, in part because I’d been sick for so long that I had kinda grown used to it–dis-ease had become normal, something I was supposed to just muscle my way through somehow. Even once I did quit gluten and experience some improvements, I still didn’t understand how damaged I was inside. I’m really glad that Mike suggested we do this together–I couldn’t do it on my own.

Anyway, here’s what I ate yesterday:

  • Before breakfast: Carrot juice, about a cup
  • Breakfast: Spoonful of liverwurst, bok choy sauteed in duck fat, two eggs fried in duck fat, duck broth with ghee
  • Lunch: Almost-Instant Vegetable Beef Soup
  • Dinner: Same as lunch
  • Snack: XXX-rated chocolate-coconut butter/oil-honey concoction I will write about later
Leave a Reply

Copyright

Chris Musser © 2011
