Hunger Is the Mother of Invention

Soup is Good Food...

Today I took the kids to OMSI for homeschool science club, which starts at noon at runs for an hour. Usually, Mike takes them and I had planned to stay home and put something together for lunch, but he got a call about a job opening right when it was time to go, so I got the honors.

Though I hadn’t eaten anything since 8am or so, I wasn’t at all hungry when we arrived. I even remarked to another mom, who has done GAPS for a couple years now, that one thing I like about the protocol is that I wasn’t worried about being out and not having brought a snack. My hearty breakfast and fattened broth would tide me over.

After class, we hung out for another 45 minutes or so, ’til the kids started asking about food and I began noticing a low blood sugar headache coming on. Driving home, I was a bit panicked. There was no leftover soup in the house or defrosted meat of any kind. There was almost a quart of Bolognese sauce leftover from the double batch I made Saturday and plenty of raw veggies around…

Pondering, pondering. I needed something meaty and brothy and I needed it fast. By the time we got home, I had it all figured out. This recipe demonstrates how doing ahead–stocking up on vegetables that keep well, making big batches of versatile basics, preparing stock, fermenting vegetables and dairy–can save you when you haven’t planned ahead.

Almost-Instant Vegetable Beef Soup
Serves four

tallow or ghee
1 carrot, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
dash of Old Bay seasoning
4-5 kale leaves, de-spined and chopped
1 quart beef broth (pressure canned and ready to use…no thawing!)
2-3 cups meaty leftover Bolognese
sauerkraut
creme fraiche or kefir’ed cream

Melt fat over medium-high heat in a large heavy-bottomed saucepan. Saute carrot, celery and Old Bay for about 5 minutes. Add kale, beef broth, and Bolognese to pan, bring to a simmer and cook for 10-15 more minutes or until you feel faint from low blood sugar. Ladle into bowl and add a forkful of kraut and a dollop of cream. EAT!

This post shared at:
Hella Delicious: Grain-Free Tuesdays

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jane casey
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 11:02:03

    Chris,
    Thank you so much for logging your food success (and pitfalls!). I am starting to do a final metal detox and needed some food ideas! The photos are great too!!
    Jane

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Day 9 « Cooking GAPS
  3. hellad
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 00:34:58

    Fantastic! These are my favorite kinds of recipes. Throwing together whatever you have on hand in the kitchen at a given moment and usually what comes out is something so perfect unique and to die for that you never forget it. I think we had something similar happen with sardines, broccoli and sweet potato at one point, but it ended up being a roasted dish. I haven’t made it in ages, but I have been dreaming about it lately.

    Hope the GAPS diet is going well. I have just realised that bentonite clay is such a help that I should have been using it more regularly when I began the diet as it is very good at helping to detox those nasty die-off beasties.

    Thanks so much for sharing this with Grain Free Tuesdays!

    Reply

    • Chris
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:57:25

      You gotta post about the sardines, broc, and sweet potatoes some day!

      GAPS is going great–I’m really getting into a groove with the food prep and feeling pretty good. I’m picking up some bentonite clay this week. Been doing baths quite regularly and feel like they help a lot. In fact, I’m about to go fill the tub in a minute!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Chris Musser © 2011
