Almond Flour Pancakes

We have gone ’round and ’round here for eight months, trying to find a gluten-free pancake everyone likes. The kids loved the ones with rice flour, tapioca flour, and potato starch that I got from Cooking for Isaiah, but I didn’t like making the mix all the time and of course, when I decided we would quit grains, they had to go anyway. I had made the almond flour pancakes from The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook, but we didn’t like them all that much. Recently, I stumbled across this wonderful recipe for soaked almond flour pancakes. I had to tinker, of course, but love how simple these are. I mix the whole thing in my 2-cup Pyrex measure, making clean up a snap. Before, I made three different bowls dirty for pancakes!

2 eggs
1/2 cup yogurt
1 cup almond flour or hazelnut meal
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 generous teaspoon honey
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

The night before, mix eggs, yogurt and almond flour in a cup or bowl. Allow to sit overnight. Before cooking, add the remaining ingredients and stir to incorporate fully. If you let the mix sit for 10-15 minutes, the baking soda will make the batter a little foamy you’ll get fluffier pancakes.

Melt ghee on a frying pan or griddle over medium heat (about 325F on an electric griddle). Keep the pancakes on the smallish side as they can be delicate and difficult to flip. When browned on the bottom after a couple minutes, flip and cook for another couple minutes.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DebbieM
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 08:01:02

    Does it sit overnight in the fridge?

    Reply

    • Chris
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:55:06

      I should have said this in the post (and I’ll correct it in a sec), but the reason for mixing the first three ingredients and letting them soak overnight is to neutralize the phytic acid that may be present in the almond flour. I always “soak” at room temperature. If you’re not comfortable with that, you could also just mix right before making the pancakes. If you are using blanched almond flour, it’s not really a necessary step. I like to do it because it’s faster in the morning.

      Reply

    • Chris
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:34:05

      I leave it on the counter, but if you were uncomfortable with that, you could refrigerate it. Sometimes, I just mix it and use it right away, too.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Eating Local Meal Plan for Spring | Lost Arts Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Chris Musser © 2011
