Apple Cinna-Muffins

We ran out of almond flour late last week, just as I was beginning to realize how much I lurve the combination of apples and cinnamon. My kids have become absolutely obsessed with applesauce and cinnamon and I was thinking about how I could make a more portable apple-cinnamon snack to pack. Muffins! But I had no almond flour in the house. Until late yesterday. Our big box of almond flour finally arrived from Honeyville and this morning, I made these. Annabel has been telling me all day to make these all the time and it looks like I’ll bake them again tomorrow, as they are all gone.

Popping muffin out of Demarle pan. Easy-peasy.

Our house did not have a dishwasher for the first nine years we lived here. After our umpteenth argument about undone dishes, my husband and I finally bought a used portable dishwasher last fall, but I’m still in the habit of minimizing the number of dishes I use when I cook (well, Mike, as #1 dishwasher, thinks I still use too many, but really, I try). I’m particularly obsessed with minimizing while baking as there’s almost always at least three vessels involved (one for dry ingredients, one for wet, and one for baking), plus measuring cups and spoons. Whenever I can, I use my 2-cup Pyrex measure for wet ingredients all at once. For example, to measure the ingredients for these muffins, I first added the egg to my measuring cup. It came almost to the 1/4-cup line. I then added the ghee, stirring to incorporate it with the egg, until it came to the 1/2-cup line. Next, I added the honey until it came to the 1-cup line. Finally, I added the vanilla and stirred everything together.

I adapted this recipe from Elana Amsterdam’s Apple Cinnamon Muffin recipe in The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook. Hers calls for arrowroot, which I have not found necessary; grapeseed oil, which I replaced with ghee; and agave nectar, which I replaced with honey.

Apple Cinna-Muffins
Makes 20 mini-muffins or 10 standard muffins

2 cups almond flour
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 egg
1/4 cup ghee at room temperature
1/2 cup honey
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 large or 2 medium apples, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/4-inch pieces

Preheat oven to 350F. In a medium bowl, mix the almond flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. In a measuring cup, mix the egg, ghee, honey, and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and combine. Mix in the apple. Spoon batter into muffin pan and bake for 25-35 minutes, until the tops are golden brown.

Shared at Monday Mania.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 06:10:53

    These look really good! I recently eliminated refined sugar, gluten, most other grains, and lactose from my diet and am looking for recipes. This one is going on the list. :)

    Reply

  2. chickiepea
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 19:46:05

    Yum.

    Reply

  3. thisischristine
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 06:25:44

    Temperature?

    Reply

  4. dahnahmea
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 17:26:23

    I made these and love them. Looking for a good GAPS treat I found a pic of your muffins on pinterest, follwed them here, and just ate my first one. They will soon be gone at my house too. THANK YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Chris Musser © 2011
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

